Mailchimp have recently amended how contacts are deleted from an Audience. Contacts may now be archived or permanently deleted (read more about archiving Mailchimp contacts) .
The Difference Between Archiving and Permanently Deleting a Mailchimp Contact
A contact that is permanently deleted cannot be re-added to an Audience. In addition a contact that is permanently deleted has their data removed from Mailchimp reports.
A contact that is archived may be added back into a Mailchimp Audience and data are not removed from reports.
The video below shows the difference between archiving and permanently deleting a Mailchimp contact.
Instructions to Permanently Delete a Mailchimp Contact
Time needed: 5 minutes.
These instructions describe how to permanently delete contacts from your Mailchimp Audience.
- View your Mailchimp Audience
Login to your Mailchimp account and click “Audience” in the main horizontal menu. Ensure that you are in the Audience from which you want to delete contacts by selecting your preferred Audience in the “Current audience” drop-down field.
- Enter the Mailchimp Data Management Tool
View your contacts by clicking the “View Contacts” button. Now click “Manage contacts” then “Data management tool”.
- Permanently delete contacts
Click the box to the left of the contacts you want to permanently delete to select each contact (you may also click the down arrow below “Filter by Tags” to select all contacts or visible contacts). Now click the “Permanently Delete” button and confirm that you want to permanently delete the contact or contacts.